Are we there yet?

What are the elements of personal success? As an educator I have a special interest in trying to figure this out. I want to help guide students on their path to success (fame and fortune, untold riches or satisfying lives).

Since I don’t believe that expert and successful are synonymous (see:Doing Time) it might be useful to try to summarize the qualities of success. Career-Success-For-Newbies provides some suggestions and The Wisdom Journal provides 6 factors to consider.

I really like Ron Haynes’ comment in The Wisdom Journal article. He says: “Too many people think that success is wrapped up in things, but the truth is, success is wrapped up in how you see yourself and how you’re able to enjoy your life.” It seems clear that there is room for personal interpretation in all this. That is going to make it difficult to nail down.

Whether success is a destination or a journey I would like your help in determining how different people define personal success. Thanks in advance for sharing my journey.

Leave a comment